Storm Victims Can Apply For Assistance Through FEMA

Main Content
Release date: 
June 24, 2003
Release Number: 

Sherwood, AR -- Arkansans in 19 counties who suffered damages to their homes, apartments or businesses from storms that swept through the state between May 2 through June 10 can apply for assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) teleregistration line, even if they have already applied for assistance through the state.

Assistance is available for Arkansans living in the counties of: Benton, Chicot, Cleburne, Columbia, Conway, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Faulkner, Fulton, Jackson, Lonoke, Nevada, Perry, Phillips, Poinsett, St. Francis, White and Woodruff.

People who have disaster-related needs can apply by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing- or speech- impaired. The teleregistration line is open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. seven days a week, until further notice.

Low-interest loans for homeowners, renters and businesses are also available from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). The application process, which takes 15 to 20 minutes, is the starting point for a wide range of state, federal and voluntary disaster assistance programs.

Applicants should have the following information readily available when calling the 1-800/621-3362 registration number:

  • Name
  • Current and damaged property address
  • Gross family income
  • Contact telephone numbers
  • Insurance information
  • A general list of damages and losses
  • Social Security number

"We want those who suffered losses from the severe storms and tornadoes that began on May 2 to get the help they need to get back on their feet," said Federal Coordinating Officer Sandy Coachman. "FEMA and State Community Relations personnel are already canvassing affected neighborhoods and going door-to-door with registration information."

"Making that registration call is the first step on the road to recovery," added State Coordinating Officer Rich Griffin.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top