Two Weeks Left To Apply For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 23, 2003
Release Number: 

Springfield, MO -- Two weeks remain for those who haven't yet applied for state and federal disaster assistance to make an application.

"We will continue to process applications, but the deadline for registering is July 7," said Mike Karl, federal coordinating officer with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Individuals and business owners affected by the May tornadoes, severe storms and flooding, which occurred May 4 - 30, should apply as soon as possible by calling FEMA's toll-free number, 800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY, 800-462-7585 for the hearing or speech-impaired. Telephone lines are open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice

"Don't assume you aren't eligible for assistance," said Jerry Uhlmann, state coordinating officer. "We don't want to miss anyone who has been affected by these disasters who may need help in the recovery process."

Even if you have insurance, you may be eligible for disaster assistance. However, in order to complete an application, FEMA will need the resident's insurance settlement information to avoid any duplication of benefits.

Applications may be updated and continued to be processed after the July 7 deadline, but no additional applications for assistance will be accepted. Helpline representatives (at the numbers listed above) are available to answer questions about assistance or check the status of a caller's application. Multilingual representatives are available when needed.

Victims of the May disaster may be eligible for grants for temporary disaster housing assistance; funds to repair disaster-damaged homes to a safe and sanitary living or functional condition; replacement grants for serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs; U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans for individuals and businesses to repair or replace damaged property, and free legal services and crisis counseling.

To date, 6,332 Missourians have registered with FEMA for assistance in the aftermath of the May disaster.

The final day to apply for disaster assistance is July 7 for all those affected by the May disaster in the following 74 Missouri counties designated eligible for Individual Assistance: Audrain, Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Boone, Buchanan, Callaway, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Iron, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Laclede, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Marion, McDonald, Miller, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Perry, Pettis, Phelps, Pike, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Ralls, Randolph, Ray, Saline, Scott, Shelby, Stoddard, St. Clair, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve, St. Louis, Stone, Taney, Vernon, Washington and Webster.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: