Aid Tops $1.7 Million In Kentucky Disaster Recovery

Main Content
Release date: 
June 20, 2003
Release Number: 

Richmond, KY -- $1.7 million in grants and loans has been approved for Kentucky residents as state, federal, local and voluntary agencies continue to help those affected by last month's severe storms and flooding.
Recovery assistance is available to individuals in 36 counties as part of a Presidential disaster declaration. The affected counties are: Anderson, Boyd, Breckinridge, Boyle, Bullitt, Caldwell, Carter, Crittenden, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Garrard, Grayson, Greenup, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, Hopkins, Jefferson, Jessamine, Larue, Lewis, Lawrence, Madison, Mason, McLean, Meade, Mercer, Nelson, Owsley, Perry, Rowan, Union, Washington, Webster and Woodford.

Recovery services summary through Thursday, June 20, 2003

  • 1,100 individuals have called the toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) to register for assistance.
  • 514 property inspections have been completed to determine eligibility.
  • $965,902 in disaster housing assistance has been approved for 375 households.
  • $563,311 in grants has been approved for home repairs and replacement of essential household items to make damaged dwellings safe, sanitary and functional.
  • $185,900 in low-interest disaster loans have been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration.

For information on any of these programs please call the FEMA toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA, or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for the speech and hearing impaired.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top