Main Content

Less Than A Month Remains To Apply For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 19, 2003
Release Number: 

Birmingham, AL -- Alabama residents and business owners who suffered losses in the floods, tornadoes and hail storms that struck in May have less than one month left to register for state and federal recovery assistance.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will accept applications through July 11 for those in the 38 disaster-designated counties. The deadline for submitting loan applications to the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is also July 11, 2003.

This announcement came as the federal and state outlay for recovery assistance approached $20 million. The latest figures include more than $13.8 million in Housing and Other Needs Assistance and more than $5.7 million in SBA loans to homeowners, renters and business owners.

On Tuesday, 976 residents registered for disaster recovery assistance bringing the total to nearly 10,000 who have signed up since the presidential disaster declarations.

FEMA's Gracia Szczech, who is coordinating the recovery effort for the federal government, said, "I want to emphasize to every Alabamian who was affected by this disaster that it is essential to register, so that we and the state of Alabama can get recovery assistance to them as soon as possible."

The number to call to register for help is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 for persons with speech or hearing impairments. The lines are open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Perry Martin of the Alabama Emergency Management Agency, coordinating recovery efforts for the state, said he hoped everyone who suffered losses had gotten the word on how to apply for assistance.

"We don't want anyone to be neglected who is eligible for help to begin recovery. We just hope everyone will get registered," he said.

The 38 counties designated for disaster assistance are Baldwin, Barbour, Bibb, Blount, Bullock, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Clarke, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Escambia, Etowah, Jackson, Jefferson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Macon, Madison, Marshall, Mobile, Monroe, Morgan, Randolph, Russell, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Washington.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top