Individuals In Owsley County Now Eligible For Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
June 13, 2003
Release Number: 

Richmond, KY -- Eligible individuals in Owsley County can now receive federal and state assistance in recovering from the May 4-27 severe storms and flooding.

Owsley County's addition to the disaster declaration comes following a review of additional information regarding damages incurred as a result of the severe storms and flooding May 4-27.

The designation means that county residents are eligible to apply for a variety of programs. These can include disaster-housing assistance, low interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs. Residents and business owners are urged to call the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (TTY: 1-800-462-7585) to apply for disaster aid.

Government disaster assistance covers basic needs and will not normally compensate individuals for their entire loss. If an individual has insurance, the government may help pay for basic needs not covered under their insurance policy. Some disaster assistance does not have to be paid back, while other help may come in the form of loans.

"Federal, state and local agencies, plus volunteer organizations, are working as a team to meet affected residents' immediate needs," said Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Butler. "Long-term recovery is also part of our mission."

There are now 36 counties in the Commonwealth of Kentucky where individuals are eligible for disaster assistance. Of these, 15 are also eligible for public assistance to local governments and other entities. Another five counties are eligible only for assistance to local governments and other public entities. In all, 40 counties in the Commonwealth are included in the disaster declaration.

Individuals in the following counties are urged to call FEMA's toll-free number and register for assistance if they had damage during the May 4-27 storms and flooding: Anderson, Boyd, Breckinridge, Boyle, Bullitt, Caldwell, Carter, Crittenden, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Garrard, Grayson, Greenup, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, Hopkins, Jefferson, Jessamine, Larue, Lewis, Lawrence, Madison, Mason, McLean, Meade, Mercer, Nelson, Owsley, Perry, Rowan, Union, Washington, Webster and Woodford.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top