Assistance Tops $1 Million One Week After Disaster Declaration

Main Content
Release date: 
June 12, 2003
Release Number: 

Richmond, KY -- State, federal, local and voluntary agencies continue to help Kentucky residents affected by the May 4-27 severe storms and flooding, as a total of $1,106,170 in federal grants and loans has been approved for local residents, through Thursday, June 12, 2003.

Recovery assistance is available to individuals in 35 counties as part of a Presidential disaster declaration. The counties are: Anderson, Boyd, Breckinridge, Boyle, Bullitt, Caldwell, Carter, Crittenden, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Garrard, Grayson, Greenup, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, Hopkins, Jefferson, Jessamine, Larue, Lewis, Lawrence, Madison, Mason, McLean, Meade, Mercer, Nelson, Perry, Rowan, Union, Washington, Webster and Woodford.

Recovery services summary through Wednesday, June 11, 2003

  • 571 individuals have called the toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) to register for assistance.
  • 335 property inspections have been completed.
  • $593,015 in disaster housing assistance has been approved for 230 households.
  • $406,855 in grants has been approved for home repairs and replacement of essential household items to make damaged dwellings safe, sanitary and functional.
  • $106,300 in low-interest disaster loans have been approved by the U.S. Small Business Administration.

For information on any of these programs please call the FEMA toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA, or (TTY) 1-800-462-7585 for the speech and hearing impaired.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top