Additional Kentucky Counties Eligible For Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
June 12, 2003
Release Number: 

Richmond, KY -- State and federal officials announced that disaster assistance is now available for an additional three counties in Kentucky. Estill, Madison and Perry counties are now eligible for disaster assistance. This assistance comes following a review of additional information regarding damages incurred as a result of the severe storms and flooding May 4-27.

The designation means that residents of the additional counties are eligible to apply for a variety of programs which could include disaster housing assistance, low interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs. Residents and business owners are urged to call the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (TTY: 1-800-462-7585) to apply for disaster aid.

Government disaster assistance covers basic needs and will not normally compensate individuals for their entire loss. If an individual has insurance, the government may help pay for basic needs not covered under their insurance policy. Some disaster assistance does not have to be paid back, while other help may come in the form of loans.

"Federal, state, and local governments, along with volunteer agencies are working together to meet immediate needs and address the long-term recovery issues," said Mike Butler, federal coordinating officer.

The additions bring the number of Kentucky counties eligible for individual assistance to 35, with 12 of those counties also eligible for public assistance to local governments and other entities. Another eight counties are eligible only for assistance to local governments and other public entities. In all, 43 counties in the Commonwealth are included in the disaster declaration.

Individuals in the following counties are urged to call FEMA's toll-free number and register for assistance if they had damage during the May 4-27 storms and flooding: Anderson, Boyd, Breckinridge, Boyle, Bullitt, Caldwell, Carter, Crittenden, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Garrard, Grayson, Greenup, Hardin, Hart, Henderson, Hopkins, Jefferson, Jessamine, Larue, Lewis, Lawrence, Madison, Mason, McLean, Meade, Mercer, Nelson, Perry, Rowan, Union, Washington, Webster and Woodford.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top