Main Content

Disaster Assistance Application Deadline Is Two Weeks Away

Release date: 
June 9, 2003
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- Only two weeks remain to apply for state and federal disaster assistance to help residents recover from the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that ravaged central and southwest Mississippi during April 6th through 25th, 2003.

The deadline to apply for assistance is June 23rd.

All that is required to apply for disaster assistance is one toll-free phone call to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). That number is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired.

"Failure to apply will close the door on the availability of a whole range of federal and state disaster assistance programs, including low-interest loans from the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA). June 23rd is also the last day to return completed SBA loan applications," said Leon Shaifer, Mississippi's state coordinating official for long-term disaster recovery.

Assistance is available to any eligible resident of the 31 Mississippi declared counties who suffered uninsured or under-insured losses due to the severe weather.

Carlos Mitchell, FEMA's federal coordinating officer for disaster recovery, added, "Anyone who incurred storm damage is urged to register, even if their property was insured, to protect their right to receive assistance should hidden damage appear after reaching a settlement with their insurance company."

The 31 declared counties are: Amite, Attala, Claiborne, Clarke, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Kemper, Lauderdale, Laurence, Leake, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pearl River, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Warren, Wayne and Yazoo.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: