Main Content

Guard Against Unpleasant Surprises

Main Content
Release date: 
June 6, 2003
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- Mississippians who sustained storm damage during the April 6th through 25th severe storms, tornadoes and flooding and who have settled with their insurance companies still should consider applying for federal/state disaster assistance, disaster officials said today.

Long-term recovery officials with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) urge everyone with storm losses to apply for disaster aid to protect against unpleasant surprises.

Leon Shaifer, MEMA's state coordinating officer, said, "There have been cases where unexpected losses appear after insurance claims are paid. Applying for assistance with FEMA provides a safeguard against unexpected storm damage costs occurring after insurance settlement has been paid. For disaster assistance, June 23rd is the deadline for applying."

State and federal disaster assistance covers uninsured losses only and has no effect on the homeowner's insurance policies. Also, applying for assistance does not commit applicants to receiving aid.

Carlos Mitchell, FEMA's federal coordinating officer, added, "Why not protect yourself while you still have time to do so. With the deadline for applying for assistance just a little over two weeks away, the time is now to give yourself that added protection. It takes only a few minutes to apply over FEMA's toll-free telephone line, 1-800-621-3362. The hearing or speech impaired may call TTY 1-800-462-7585. Operators are available to serve applicants every day, from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m."

The counties declared disaster areas as a result of President Bush's April 24, 2003 declaration are: Amite, Attala, Claiborne, Clarke, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pearl River, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Warren, Wayne and Yazoo. Residents of these counties are eligible to apply for a variety of federal/state disaster assistance programs.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: