Main Content

Allen County Now Eligible For Disaster Unemployment Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
June 6, 2003
Release Number: 

Lenexa, KS --Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is now eligible for Allen county residents who are out of work due to the severe storms and tornadoes that occurred May 4 through 30. July 7, 2003 is the deadline for DUA application for Allen county.

Other counties that became eligible for DUA previously have deadlines that are fast approaching.

  • The deadline to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance for residents of Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Leavenworth, Miami, Neosho, and Wyandotte counties is June 8, 2003.

  • Residents of Anderson, Douglas, Osage and Woodson counties have approximately one week left to apply. Their deadline is June 15, 2003.

  • The Disaster Unemployment Assistance deadline for residents of Haskell, Meade and Seward counties is June 27.

The DUA program extends coverage to people ineligible for unemployment compensation under the regular state unemployment insurance program. Those who may qualify include self-employed persons, farm workers, farm and ranch owners, agricultural producers, commission-paid employees and others not covered by regular programs who lost work as a result of the disaster. Individuals who are not sure if they qualify under this program should apply anyway to ensure that everyone who is eligible is assisted.

Persons applying for unemployment benefits should be able to provide proof of past earnings at the time they file a claim, such as business records or bank statements and recent income tax forms. Residents should call the Kansas Department of Human Resource unemployment insurance toll free number 1-800-292-6333 to determine eligibility under the program. The Department of Human Resources will also assist DUA claimants in finding re-employment through testing, counseling, and placement services.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: