Main Content

Allen County to get Federal Aid

Release date: 
June 2, 2003
Release Number: 

Lenexa, KS - Today, Allen County was added to President Bush's May 6 disaster declaration for Kansas. Allen County is now eligible for both individual assistance and public assistance.

"Our review of additional information indicated enough significant damage to amend the original disaster declaration and make Allen county eligible for federal help," said Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Hall.

State and federal assistance programs include: grants for short-term rental needs, minimal home repairs, or to meet serious disaster-related needs not covered by other programs; low-interest U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loans for any disaster-related damage and/or to replace damaged personal property.

Governmental entities in Allen County can apply for help with eligible costs associated with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance also may be provided to repair, restore or replace facilities owned by certain private, nonprofit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care or other essential governmental service facilities.

Residents adversely affected by the May storms and tornadoes can apply for assistance by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Hearing and speech impaired individulas may call TTY at 1-800-462-7585. This is the first and most important step in the application process.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: