Main Content

Questions About Disaster Assistance? Call Fema's Toll-Free Helpline

Release date: 
May 29, 2003
Release Number: 

Birmingham, AL -- A disaster information Helpline is available to Alabamians who already have applied for disaster assistance and either need more information about programs or wish to check the status of their applications.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) toll-free Helpline number is
1-800-621-FEMA (3362). There is a TTY number - 1-800-462-7585 - for applicants with speech or hearing impairments.

"People who have questions about their applications or eligibility for assistance can get answers by calling this number," said Perry Martin, of the Alabama Emergency Management Agency (AEMA), state coordinating officer for the Alabama disaster recovery operation. "Should Helpline personnel not have a response to a particular question, they can refer applicants to the agency or organization that can."

Gracia Szczech, federal coordinating officer, encourages applicants also to use the Helpline to keep FEMA informed of their whereabouts. "Any address or telephone number change should be reported immediately," she said.

Recovery officials also remind those with losses from May's severe storms, tornadoes or flooding who have not yet registered for assistance can call the same number to apply.

A recorded message directs callers to use a menu to reach the department they want. Those without touchtone service can stay on the line for operator assistance.

FEMA operates the Helpline/registration line from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily.

The 38 designated counties for disaster assistance in Alabama are Baldwin, Barbour, Bibb, Blount, Bullock, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Clarke, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Escambia, Etowah, Jackson, Jefferson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Macon, Madison, Marshall, Mobile, Monroe, Morgan, Randolph, Russell, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker and Washington.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: