More Than $15.8 Million In Disaster Aid Approved For Mississippians; 5,406 Have Applied For Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 29, 2003
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- A total of $15,857,476 in federal/state disaster aid has been approved for the State of Mississippi as a result of the April 6th through 25th, 2003, severe storms, tornadoes and flooding. President Bush declared 30 Mississippi counties disaster areas on April 24, at the request of Gov. Ronnie Musgrove.

As of today, 5,406 Mississippians have applied for the various forms of federal/state disaster assistance.

The counties in which residents are eligible for disaster aid are: Amite, Attala, Claiborne, Clarke, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pearl River, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Warren, Wayne and Yazoo.

Anyone who suffered storm, tornado or flood damage April 6th through 25th should call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to apply for assistance. The speech or hearing impaired should call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

The following is a breakdown, to date, of the federal/state disaster aid approved for Mississippians:

  • Individual & Household Program (IHP) - - $8,493,205
  • U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Loans - - $4,507,800

Leon Shaifer, the state coordinating officer in charge of long-term recovery, reminds Mississippians, "It is less than one month away from the June 23rd deadline to apply for federal/state disaster assistance.

veryone who had storm damage during the April 6th through 25th severe weather should make that one toll-free call to 1-800-621-3362, to begin the recovery process."

Individuals, families and business owners who reside in the designated counties and who sustained disaster losses during the declared severe weather period are eligible for a wide range of disaster assistance programs.

Carlos Mitchell, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) official in charge of the recovery effort, stated, "We are now within the last month to apply for disaster assistance. We are gratified that more than 5,400 Mississippians have responded so far to our call for disaster applications, but we don't want anyone to fall between the cracks. If an individual sustained storm damage during the April 6th through 25th time period, he or she may be eligible for federal/state assistance. Don't be left out, call 1-800-621-3362 immediately to apply for assistance. This one call will start the process of long-term recovery."

The Public Assistance Program - the program that deals with public infrastructure disaster assistance - has $2,856,471 obligated to 12 Mississippi counties to assist with the costs of debris removal, repair of roads, bridges, public buildings and utilities, and to help with overtime paid to police officers, firefighters and other emergency personnel. FEMA provides 75 percent funding for such projects, while the state and local applicants pay the remaining 25 percent.

The 12 Mississippi counties declared eligible for the Public Assistance Program are: Clarke, Hinds, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lincoln, Madison, Neshoba, Newton, Rankin, Scott, Warren and Yazoo.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top