Mobile Disaster Recovery Center Returns To Pike County

Main Content
Release date: 
May 29, 2003
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- A federal/state mobile Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) will return to Pike County Thursday and Friday, June 5th and 6th,to bring state and federal assistance information directly to those residents affected by the April 6th through 25th severe storms, tornadoes and flooding.

The mobile DRC will be located at The Boardroom in the Pike County Courthouse, 100 South Cherry Street, in Magnolia. The hours of operation will be from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

The reason for the return of the mobile DRC is to help those residents who have already applied for disaster assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free application number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), but still have questions about programs that may be available to them, or have additional questions about their application for assistance. The speech or hearing impaired should call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Disaster assistance specialists from FEMA, the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency, U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), and other state agencies will staff the mobile unit.

As a result of President Bush's disaster declaration of April 24th, there are now 30 Mississippi counties eligible for federal/state disaster assistance. Those counties are: Amite, Attala, Claiborne, Clarke, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pearl River, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Warren, Wayne and Yazoo.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top