Leake County Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 29, 2003
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- Disaster assistance for Leake County has been expanded to include aid for local governments affected by the April 6th through 25th severe storms, tornadoes and flooding, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Michael D. Brown, FEMA director and Under Secretary for Emergency Preparedness and Response at the Department of Homeland Security, announced yesterday the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. Under the original declaration issued by President Bush on April 24th, the county was designated for aid to individuals, households and business owners.

"Our continuing commitment is not only to help meet the recovery needs of devastated families and businesses," Brown said, "but to ensure that the vital community services they also depend on are restored as quickly and efficiently as possible."

Under the expanded assistance, Brown said affected governments in Leake County are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the approved cost for debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, buildings and utilities.

Procedures for requesting the assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings at locations to be announced shortly by state and federal disaster recovery officials.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top