Disaster Recovery Center Opens Wednesday In Egypt Community Near Okolona

Main Content
Release date: 
May 27, 2003
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- State and federal disaster management officials will open a Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) in Egypt on Wednesday, May 28th, to assist Mississippians who suffered losses during the May 5th through 8th severe storms, tornadoes and high winds. The center, available to anyone who sustained damage during that severe weather, will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Saturday, until further notice.

The DRC will be located at the Egypt Voting Precinct & Community Center, 253 County Road 177, in the Egypt community near Okolona. People have until July 22, 2003, to apply for disaster assistance

Application for disaster aid should be made first by telephone. The number to call to apply for assistance is 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The speech or hearing impaired should call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Representatives from both the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency (MEMA) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) will be on hand to answer questions and provide guidance to applicants seeking various forms of disaster aid. Representatives of the U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will also be available to assist with disaster loan applications. The SBA disaster loan program provides low interest loans to homeowners and renters, as well as businesses.

The center is open to help applicants who have questions about what types of assistance are available, or have questions about the status of their applications. This will provide an opportunity to meet face-to-face with disaster officials and receive first-hand, current and accurate information on the spot.

Anyone throughout the declared disaster area who suffered damage during the early May severe weather can visit the DRC to obtain assistance.

President Bush declared nine Mississippi counties eligible for federal and state disaster assistance on May 23, 2003. Those counties are: Calhoun, Clay, Chickasaw, Itawamba, Lee, Lowndes, Monroe, Pontotoc and Webster.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top