Disaster Aid Exceeds $4 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
May 20, 2003
Release Number: 

Birmingham, AL -- More than $4 million in federal and state disaster assistance has been approved for residents of Alabama's 32 declared counties, recovery officials said today.

In addition, the number of families registered for assistance now totals 2,253.

Assistance for housing and essential needs of those who suffered losses in the recent severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding reached this milestone only eight days after President Bush's May 12 disaster declaration.

Perry Martin, state coordinating officer for the Alabama Emergency Management Agency (AEMA), urged residents who have not already done so to register for assistance. "Disaster claims will continue to be processed until everyone in the affected counties receives the recovery help to which they are entitled," he said.

To receive disaster assistance, applicants must first register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) by calling, toll free, 1-800-621-3362, 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the speech and hearing impaired. The line is available daily from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice.

"Applicants should be prepared to provide their name, social security number, address, telephone number, and insurance information," said Gracia Szczech, federal coordinating officer for FEMA's Alabama operation. "They are also reminded that photographs of actual damages and receipts for expenditures on disaster-related losses or damages are invaluable."

The breakdown for funds approved is as follows:

  • $2,364,968 to families for housing assistance.
  • $1,671,626 to help individuals and families with other serious needs not covered by insurance or met by charitable organizations.

Separately, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved a total of $88,600 in low interest loans for storm-damaged homes and businesses.

The 32 counties eligible for individual and family assistance are Barbour, Bibb, Blount, Bullock, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Jackson, Jefferson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Macon, Madison, Marshall, Morgan, Randolph, Russell, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, and Walker.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top