FEMA Expands Tennessee Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 19, 2003
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) added three new counties to the Tennessee disaster declaration Monday and extended Public Assistance to 18 counties to help them repair damaged infrastructure.

Hardin, Morgan and Sumner counties were declared eligible for assistance to individuals and households, bringing the number of counties eligible for direct assistance to families to 46. Residents of those counties with property damage should register with FEMA for federal and state aid by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TDD number for those with speech or hearing impairment is 1-800-462-7585.

Public assistance to reimburse state and local agencies and eligible non-profit organizations for extraordinary spending demanded by the severe storms, flooding and tornadoes that hit the state in May was approved for the following counties: Bradley, Cumberland, Gibson, Giles, Hamilton, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Lake, Maury, Obion, Rhea, Roane, Rutherford, Smith, Tipton, Trousdale and Wayne.

The declaration was expanded based on continuing damage assessments by federal and state disaster officials.

Residents of the three newly declared counties are eligible for assistance that includes temporary housing and home repair, disaster unemployment assistance, grants for essential needs not met by other programs and U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans to repair or replace damaged property. Callers are advised to have the following information available to facilitate the application process:

  • Current phone number.
  • Address at the time of the disaster and current address.
  • Social Security number.
  • A general list of damages and losses.
  • Good directions to the damaged property.
  • If insured, the insurance policy number, or the agents' and company name.
  • General financial information.


When disaster strikes, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) administers a number of disaster assistance programs and coordinates the efforts of many other federal agencies that provide services to help people through the recovery process. The types of assistance that are available follow.

Federal Emergency Management Agency Programs

INDIVIDUALS AND HOUSEHOLDS PROGRAM: Housing assistance to individuals and families whose permanent homes were damaged or destroyed by the storm. Types of aid include grants for: temporary housing; emergency repairs needed to make a residence habitable; and mortgage or rental assistance in cases where the disaster has caused extreme economic hardship.

OTHER NEEDS ASSISTANCE: Grants to individuals and families to meet serious disaster-related needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other federal, state or voluntary agency disaster assistance programs.

DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE: Weekly benefits to individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm owners and others not usually covered under regular unemployment insurance.

U.S. Small Business Administration Programs

HOME/PERSONAL PROPERTY DISASTER LOANS: Low-interest disaster loans to homeowners and renters for restoring or replacing underinsured or uninsured disaster-damaged real and personal property. (Available in declared counties.)


Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top