Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available

Main Content
Release date: 
May 19, 2003
Release Number: 

Lenexa, KS - Individuals who are out of work as a direct result of the tornadoes and storms beginning May 4 and continuing may be eligible for weekly benefit payments under the Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) program.

"The DUA program extends coverage to people who are not eligible for unemployment compensation under the regular state unemployment insurance program," said Federal Coordinating Officer Mike Hall. "Those who may qualify include self-employed persons, farm workers, and individuals who are unable to work due to injury resulting from the disaster."

Those whose workplace is or was closed because of the disaster and/or who have become the major source of financial support for a household may also be eligible for disaster unemployment assistance.

For residents of Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Leavenworth, Miami, Neosho and Wyandotte counties, the application period for Disaster Unemployment Assistance will close June 8, 2003.

For residents of Anderson, Douglas, Osage and Woodson counties, the application period for Disaster Unemployment Assistance will close June 15, 2003.

Individuals who believe they may be eligible for this assistance are encouraged to call the Kansas City Unemployment Insurance number 913-596-3500 or toll free 1-800-292-6333 (if outside the Kansas City area) to determine eligibility under the program. Applicants will need a social security number. Self-employed applicants should also be prepared to provide information about earnings from their previous federal tax year.

The DUA is administered by the State of Kansas and funded by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top