Main Content

Storm Victims Urged To Apply For Federal/State Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 16, 2003
Release Number: 

Atlanta, GA -- So far, 1,560 Alabamians have applied for assistance to help repair damages from the recent severe storms, disaster officials reported today, urging all residents of the designated counties who suffered damages to apply by calling the toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

That number is operative daily from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice. Persons with speech or hearing impairments may call the TTY number, 1-8800-462-7585.

"It's important for anyone who suffered damages from the recent storms and tornadoes to call this number right away," said Gracia Szczech, Federal Coordinating Officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Alabama operation. "The sooner the application is in the system, the sooner state and federal help can get to the affected citizens to help them recover."

Aid is available in the form of housing assistance, low-interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property and grants for storm-related needs and expenses not covered by other programs.

The federal/state aid program was triggered by a disaster declaration issued by President Bush on May 12, shortly after a series of severe storms and tornadoes raked the state.

The 32 counties where individuals and families are eligible for the aid are Barbour, Bibb, Blount, Bullock, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Jackson, Jefferson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lee, Limestone, Macon, Madison, Marshall, Morgan, Randolph, Russell, Shelby, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa and Walker.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top