Disaster Recovery Aid Tops $900,000

Main Content
Release date: 
May 16, 2003
Release Number: 

Lenexa, KS - Families and individuals in declared counties who have suffered from the tornadoes and storms beginning May 4 and continuing, are quickly receiving assistance from state, federal, local and voluntary agencies. These agencies are working in partnership to speed help to Kansas residents.

The following counties are included in the Presidential disaster declaration for individual assistance: Anderson, Cherokee, Crawford, Douglas, Labette, Leavenworth, Miami, Neosho, Osage, Woodson and Wyandotte. The following counties are also eligible for public assistance: Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Leavenworth, Miami, Neosho, and Wyandotte.

Recovery services summary at close of business Friday, May 16, 2003:

  • 646 applications have been received through the FEMA toll free registration number 800-621-FEMA (3362), TTY: 800-462-7585. Individuals and business owners should call to register for disaster related state and federal assistance.

  • 88 percent of inspections have been completed in Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Leavenworth, Miami, Neosho and Wyandotte counties. Inspections are now being performed in all declared counties including Anderson, Douglas, Osage, and Woodson.

  • $160,831 from the Individuals and Households Program has been approved and the first checks were dispersed less than 10 days after the May 6 federal declaration.

  • The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved a total of $767,700 in low interest disaster loans.

  • Disaster Unemployment Assistance program (DUA) is available for Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Leavenworth, Miami, Neosho and Wyandotte. Deadline for application is June 8, 2003. The DUA may provide weekly benefit payments to those out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm workers, farm and ranch owners, and others not covered by regular unemployment programs.

  • Two Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs) opened and are located in Leavenworth and Crawford counties. Centers will be open Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. until further notice. People affected by the storms may go to the DRC for disaster assistance and to have questions answered in person.

  • 28,294 meals and snacks have been served by the American Red Cross in the declared counties.

  • 9,320 meals and snacks have been served by the Salvation Army in the declared counties.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top