FEMA Adds 23 Counties For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 15, 2003
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- -- Disaster assistance has been made available in 23 additional Tennessee counties to help residents recover from the effects of the severe storms, tornadoes, and floods that hit the state in May, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

Residents in these new counties who suffered uninsured losses should apply for assistance immediately by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), available 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily until further notice. Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call a special TDD number at 1-800-462-7585.

The 43 counties now declared for individual assistance are: Bedford, Bledsoe, Bradley, Cannon, Carroll, Cheatham, Chester, Coffee, Crockett, Davidson, DeKalb, Dickson, Dyer, Gibson, Hamilton, Hardeman, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Lake, Lauderdale, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Maury, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Montgomery, Obion, Polk, Rhea, Robertson, Rutherford, Sequatchie, Stewart, Warren, Wayne, Weakley, Williamson and Wilson.

The new counties join 20 declared eligible for individual assistance on May 8 by President Bush. The number was expanded based on continuing damage assessments by federal and state disaster officials. Other counties may be added if further assessments warrant it.

Residents of the declared counties are eligible to apply for assistance that includes temporary housing and home repair, disaster unemployment assistance, grants for essential needs not met by other programs and U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans to repair or replace damaged property.

Callers are advised to have the following information available to facilitate the application process:

  • Current phone number.
  • Address at the time of the disaster and current address.
  • Social Security number.
  • A general list of damages and losses.
  • Good directions to the damaged property.
  • If insured, the insurance policy number, or the agents' and company name.
  • General financial information.

Counties eligible for public assistance reimbursement to local governments and certain nonprofit agencies are Benton, Cannon, DeKalb, Dickson, Dyer, Henderson, Henry, Lawrence, Lauderdale, Madison, Marion, McMinn, Meigs, Montgomery, Perry, Polk, Stewart, Weakley and Williamson.


When disaster strikes, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) administers a number of disaster assistance programs and coordinates the efforts of many other federal agencies that provide services to help people through the recovery process. The types of assistance that are available follow.

Federal Emergency Management Agency Programs

INDIVIDUALS AND HOUSEHOLDS PROGRAM: Housing assistance to individuals and families whose permanent homes were damaged or destroyed by the storm. Types of aid include grants for: temporary housing; emergency repairs needed to make a residence habitable; and mortgage or rental assistance in cases where the disaster has caused extreme economic hardship.

OTHER NEEDS ASSISTANCE: Grants to individuals and families to meet serious disaster-related needs and necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other federal, state or voluntary agency disaster assistance programs.

DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE: Weekly benefits to individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm owners and others not usually covered under regular unemployment insurance.

U.S. Small Business Administration Programs


Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top