First Checks Go To Tornado Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
May 14, 2003
Release Number: 

Lenexa, KS -- In the first nine days that tornado-affected residents of Leavenworth, Wyandotte, Miami, Neosho, Crawford, Labette, and Cherokee counties have been eligible for state and federal aid, more that $138,000 in Disaster Housing Assistance has been disbursed.

On May 6, President Bush declared the seven Kansas counties a major disaster area. The declaration made residents and business owners in those counties eligible for various disaster assistance programs.

Disaster assistance can come in the form of grants to pay for alternate short-term housing for residents whose homes were damaged or destroyed, or to make minimal home repairs.

In addition to disaster housing assistance, other available recovery programs include: low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for homeowners, renters, or business owners; grants to meet serious disaster-related needs not covered by other programs or insurance, and disaster unemployment assistance.

Those who sustained damage to their residence or business because of the severe storms and tornadoes beginning May 4, should apply for disaster assistance by calling toll-free 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Hearing or speech-impaired applicants may call TTY: 1-800-462-7585. Hours to call are 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. (CDT) seven days a week until further notice.

To date, more than 556 people in Kansas have called 1-800-621 FEMA (3362) to apply for state and federal disaster assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top