Additional Counties Eligible For Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
May 14, 2003
Release Number: 

Lenexa, KS -- State and federal officials announced that disaster assistance is now available for four additional Kansas counties. Anderson, Douglas, Osage, and Woodson counties are now eligible for disaster assistance. This assistance comes following a review of additional information regarding damages incurred as a result of severe storms that began May 8, 2003.

"The addition of these four counties will greatly help many more people who suffered damage or losses from the tornadoes and storms," said State Coordinating Officer Chuck Bredahl.

The Individual Assistance declaration means that residents of the additional counties are eligible to apply for a variety of programs, which may include the Individuals and Households Program, and low interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

Homeowners, renters and business owners are urged to start the application process by calling the toll-free registration number at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to apply for disaster aid. Hearing and speech impaired individuals may call TTY at 1-800-462-7585. Telephone lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT, seven days a week.

"Federal, state, and local governments, along with volunteer agencies are working together to meet immediate needs and address the long-term recovery issues," said Mike Hall, Federal Coordinating Officer.

The additions bring the number of Kansas counties eligible for individual assistance to 11. Other counties eligible for disaster assistance under the disaster declaration are: Cherokee, Crawford, Labette, Leavenworth, Miami, Neosho and Wyandotte.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top