Disaster Recovery Center To Open

Main Content
Release date: 
May 13, 2003
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- A state-federal disaster recovery center will open in Jackson Thursday (May 15) to provide information on financial assistance to families and individuals who sustained property losses in the severe storms and tornadoes that hit Tennessee in early May.

The center, at 1668 N. Parkway, will be open daily from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. to answer questions about assistance and allow those who have registered with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to check the status of their applications electronically.

The center will serve the following declared counties: Carroll, Cheatham, Chester, Crockett, Dickson, Dyer, Gibson, Hardeman, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, Montgomery, Obion, Robertson, Stewart and Weakley.

"Recovery centers allow those injured by the storms to discuss their recovery face-to-face with disaster officials. This gives comfort to the victims and is a way for us to gauge the effectiveness of our assistance," said John D. White, director of the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency.

To receive assistance residents of declared counties must register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-3362 toll-free. Those with speech or hearing impairments can use the TTY number, 1-800-462-7585.

State and federal disaster officials will staff the center. In addition, a representative of the U.S. Small Business Administration will be on hand to issue applications for low-interest loans for restoring damaged homes and businesses.

Representatives of other agencies also may be assigned to the center if the need for their expertise arises.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top