More Than $3.8 Million Individual Aid: Deadline May 13

Main Content
Release date: 
May 9, 2003
Release Number: 

Charleston, WV -- More than $3.8 million in Individual Assistance has been approved for West Virginians as the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and West Virginia Office of Emergency Services officials continue response and recovery efforts for those affected by the severe winter storms of Feb. 16. Deadline for registration is Tuesday, May 13.

Residents of West Virginia's 24 disaster-declared counties must register by this deadline for disaster assistance if they suffered uninsured or underinsured losses and intend to seek state and federal assistance to help their recovery.

To register, call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), (TTY/TDD) 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired.

Registration is the only way to receive federal-state disaster assistance. The application period closes 60 days after the President issues a major disaster declaration unless an extension is granted.

Registering makes the full range of state and federal disaster assistance available, including low-interest rebuilding and loss-replacement loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). Residents in declared counties who have property damage, even if they are insured, should register to be eligible in the event insurance does not fully cover their losses.

The registration line is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

A total of $3,830,253 has been approved for the Individuals and Households Program (IHP) that includes Housing Assistance (HA) and Other Needs Assistance (ONA). HA may include lodging expense reimbursement, repair assistance and temporary rental assistance. ONA may include medical, dental and funeral expenses; furniture, clothing and some appliances; vehicle costs (up to state limits); and other eligible expenses.

County breakdown of IHP awards follows: Braxton, $30,360; Cabell, $313,563; Calhoun, $74,467; Fayette, $52,087; Greenbrier, $30,202; Harrison, $22,927; Jackson, $166,711; Kanawha, $324,367; Lewis, $12,332; Lincoln, $344,806; Logan, $74,402; Mason, $127,591; McDowell, $276,821; Mercer, $188,129; Mingo, $781,328; Monroe, $31,237; Nicholas, $68,157; Putnam, $35,918; Raleigh, $261,567; Roane, $81,443; Upshur, $8,327; Wayne, $254,075; Webster, $10,627; and Wyoming, $258,799.

SBA has approved $838,000 for 69 home and business loans.

Financial assistance in the amount of $2,281,744 has been obligated to repair or replace disaster-damaged public facilities through FEMA's Public Assistance program. The funds represent initial payments to the 314 units of government that have applied for assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top