FEMA Community Response Teams Canvas Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
May 9, 2003
Release Number: 

Kansas City, KS -- Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Community Relations teams are reaching out to those affected by the tornadoes that hit the area beginning May 4, 2003.

Teams are currently in Crawford, Wyandotte and Cherokee counties, and working to expand operations into other counties.

Members of FEMA's Community Relations team will be going door-to-door, reminding people to apply for FEMA disaster assistance by calling the toll-free number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). For people who are speech or hearing-impaired, the TTY number is 1-800-462-7585. Telephone lines are open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. CDT, seven days a week.

Kansas homeowners, renters and business owners who suffered damages from the May 4 storms in the following counties may apply: Crawford, Cherokee, Labette, Leavenworth, Miami, Neosho and Wyandotte.

FEMA officials are in constant communication with representatives of community-based agencies, community leaders and public officials to assess the needs of families and business owners. FEMA teams are working with all volunteer organizations that have rallied to help residents and business in the affected counties.

State and federal assistance programs include: grants for short-term rental needs, minimal home repairs, or to meet serious disaster-related needs not covered by other programs; low-interest U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) loans for any disaster-related damage and/or to replace damaged personal property.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top