Main Content

Monthly Round-Up Of Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
May 1, 2003
Release Number: 

Lynchburg, VA -- More than two months ago, severe winter storms swept across the state, producing floods and leaving many Virginians in need of disaster assistance. Responding to a request from Gov. Mark Warner, state and federal assistance administered by the Virginia Department of Emergency Management and the Federal Emergency Management Agency became available to 39 storm-affected counties and cities.

As of May 1:

  • 1,167 individuals have registered for disaster assistance.
  • 683 families have received housing assistance.
  • $1.28 million in housing assistance has been approved.
  • $310,000 in SBA loans have been approved.
  • $276,315 in other needs assistance grants have been approved.
  • 444 people visited the Disaster Recovery Centers.

Highlights of state and federal assistance:

  • March 27: President declares Virginia as federal disaster area.
    • Grants for rental assistance for minor housing repairs and for individuals who have needs not met by other programs. Also available are low interest loans to homeowners, renters and businesses through the Small Business Administration (SBA).

    • Assistance to help local and state governments with debris removal, emergency protective measures and essential utility restoration.

    • Disaster Unemployment assistance becomes available to individuals not normally eligible for unemployment compensation who were unable to work because of the storm.

  • Jurisdictions eligible for Individual Assistance -- grants and loans to homeowners and renters, as well as low-interest loans to businesses -- are the counties of Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Montgomery, Pulaski, Roanoke, Russell, Tazewell and Wise; and the cities of Norton, Roanoke and Salem and Danville.

  • Jurisdictions eligible for Public Assistance are the counties of Appomattox, Buchanan, Craig, Dickenson, Floyd, Halifax, Henry, Lee, Montgomery, Pittsylvania, Scott, Wise and Wythe; and the cities of Danville, Norton, Roanoke and Salem.

  • Jurisdictions eligible for snow removal and emergency protective services as a result of record or near-record snows are the counties of Arlington, Clarke, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, Highland, Loudoun, Orange, Prince William, Rappahannock, Shenandoah and Warren; and the cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, Manassas Park and Winchester.

Storm-affected individuals can still register for disaster assistance at 1-800-621-3362 (FEMA) from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday - Friday. The TTY number for hearing- or speech-impaired individuals is 1-800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: