Helpful Tips For Disaster Applicants

Main Content
Release date: 
May 1, 2003
Release Number: 

Jackson, MS -- State and federal disaster recovery officials issued these recovery assistance tips for residents of Mississippi who suffered uninsured or underinsured losses resulting from the April 6th through 14th severe storms, tornadoes and flooding.

The essential first step is to call 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) to register toll-free with the Federal Emergency Management office (FEMA). This is the only way to obtain the assistance you are eligible to receive.

Other suggestions for getting help as quickly as possible include:

  • Be sure FEMA has a current telephone number that will reach you and that your street address is prominently displayed. Your damage will be inspected. Arrange to be at home and allow sufficient time for the inspection. Missing the inspection appointment will delay getting help.

  • If you change locations after applying for federal/state assistance, call the FEMA application number to update your new phone number and/or address. We cannot help you if we cannot find you.

  • You should apply even if you have some insurance. This establishes your eligibility for assistance in case hidden damage is discovered after you have settled with your insurance company. Even those insured may be qualified for some federal/state assistance programs. Damage must be disaster-related, however.

  • You don't have to be a property owner to receive federal assistance. If you are a renter and lost essential personal property and are not insured for the loss, help in getting replacement is available.

  • Renters and homeowners forced from their homes by disaster damage may apply for housing assistance in order to temporarily relocate while repairs are made.

  • If you receive an SBA loan application you must complete and return it even if you do not want a loan; it may help determine your eligibility for a grant.

  • To check the status of your application, or if you need to amend your application, for example, to report newly discovered damage, contact FEMA's information Helpline using the toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or 1-800-462-7585 for the speech or hearing impaired.

The counties in which residents are eligible for disaster aid are: Amite, Attala, Claiborne, Clarke, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Issaquena, Jasper, Jefferson, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Madison, Neshoba, Newton, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Warren, Wayne and Yazoo.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top