Briefings Set For Local City Officials

Main Content
Release date: 
May 1, 2003
Release Number: 

Lynchburg, VA -- Applicant briefings for town and city officials, state agencies, and eligible private non-profit organizations in Lee, Pulaski and Roanoke counties will be held next week, officials said.

"In the wake of the February storms and flooding, these briefings will explain the application process that community and state officials will follow to receive disaster assistance for emergency and permanent repair work to infrastructure," said Tom Costello, the federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The briefings are scheduled at the following times and locations:

  • Wednesday, May 7, 10 a.m. -- Salem Civic Center (now called the James E.Taliaferro Sports & Entertainment Complex) Parlor C, 1001 Roanoke Blvd., Salem, Va.
  • Friday, May 9, 11 a.m. -- Wytheville Courthouse Complex (Law Enforcement Judicial Center), 245 S. Fourth St., Wytheville, Va.

"State officials will provide information about the scope of the public assistance program," said Michael Cline, Virginia's state coordinating officer. "Following the briefings, teams of state and federal inspectors will schedule meetings with local officials to inspect disaster-related damages and associated costs."

In accordance with President Bush's March 27 disaster declaration, affected local governments in these counties are eligible to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the approved costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures, and repairing, restoring or replacing damaged public facilities. Disaster assistance may also be provided for damage to facilities owned by certain private non-profit organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential governmental-type service facilities.

The following localities were declared eligible for Public Assistance April 28: Counties of Appomattox, Buchanan, Craig, Dickenson, Floyd, Halifax, Henry, Lee, Montgomery, Pittsylvania, Scott, Wise and Wythe; Cities of Danville, Norton, Roanoke and Salem.

A separate briefing will be held for federal and state officials to discuss environmental and historical sites that might impact the recovery process. Other interested parties may attend this meeting scheduled:

  • Thursday, May 8, 10 a.m. -- Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), Southwest Regional Office, 355 Deadmore St., Abingdon, Va.
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top