Main Content

More Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available For Southwest Virginia Localities

Main Content
Release date: 
April 30, 2003
Release Number: 

Lynchburg, VA -- Individuals from three additional localities who lost work because of the severe storms and flooding in Southwest Virginia Feb.15-28 may now be eligible for disaster unemployment assistance (DUA).

Self-employed and unemployed workers in Lee, Pulaski and Roanoke counties who are not covered by regular state unemployment insurance programs may qualify for benefits for work time lost due to the storms and flooding.

Other jurisdictions previously designated for DUA under President Bush's original March 27 disaster declaration are Buchanan, Dickenson, Montgomery, Russell, Tazewell and Wise counties, and the cities of Norton, Roanoke and Salem.

Disaster unemployment assistance covers those whose places of business or employment were affected and, as a direct result of the disaster:

  • Lost work, or continue to be out of work, because of damage to their places of employment;
  • Were unable to travel to their workplace;
  • Are self-employed but were, or continue to be, prevented from working;
  • Have become the breadwinners or major support of a household because the heads of the households died due to the storms or flooding; or
  • Cannot work because of storm or flood-related injuries.

Anyone who believes he or she was affected by the disaster should visit the nearest Virginia Employment Commission (VEC) field office. Applicants should have their Social Security numbers and, if possible, documentation showing earnings for the 2002 calendar year.

The deadline for applying for disaster unemployment assistance in Lee, Pulaski and Roanoke counties is May 30, 2003. The deadline for the previously designated localities above is May 15, 2003.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: