Two Weeks Remain For Disaster Aid

Main Content
Release date: 
April 29, 2003
Release Number: 

Richmond, KY -- Only two weeks remain for residents of Kentucky's 30 disaster counties to register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Commonwealth of Kentucky for disaster assistance. So far, 4,722 families and businesses have applied for help.

Kentucky's Division of Emergency Management (KyEM) and FEMA have granted more than $11 million in assistance to individuals, businesses, and local governments recover from the winter storms that blew into Kentucky in March.

By federal law, the 60-day registration period closes May 13, 2003.

Registering is fast and toll-free. Simply dial 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. The TTY number for those with speech or hearing problems is 1-800-462-7585.

"If you suffered any damage as a result of the storms and have uninsured or underinsured losses, you should call," said Gracia B. Szczech, the federal official leading Kentucky's recovery. "That documents your situation should hidden storm related damages surface in the future."

"May 13th is merely an application deadline," said Malcolm Franklin, Director of Kentucky's Division of Emergency Management. "We will continue processing cases, but we can't accept new applications after May 13."

Those who have already applied can make changes or get information about their applications by calling FEMA's Helpline at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with speech or hearing impairments may call the TTY line at 1-800-462-7585.

The disaster counties are: Anderson, Breathitt, Carter, Clark, Clay, Elliot, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Greenup, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Letcher, Leslie, Lewis, Magoffin, Martin, Mason, Menifee, Morgan, Nicholas, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Rowan and Woodford.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top