Main Content

Disaster Aid Available To Additional VA Counties

Release date: 
April 28, 2003
Release Number: 

Lynchburg, VA -- FEMA has made additional federal and state disaster assistance available to 25 Virginia localities. This assistance will help residents, businesses and local governments recover from the February severe storms and floods.

Lee, Pulaski and Roanoke counties have been designated for aid to individuals and businesses with damage from the storms. This assistance may include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs, other serious disaster-related expenses and U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest loans.

Funding for public assistance has been granted to the counties of Prince William, Shenandoah, Warren and the cities of Manassas and Manassas Park. This includes aid for emergency protective measures, such as snow removal and emergency protective services, over a 48-hour period.

The counties of Appomattox, Buchanan, Craig, Dickenson, Floyd, Halifax, Henry, Lee, Montgomery, Pittsylvania, Scott, Wise, and Wythe and the cities of Danville, Norton, Roanoke and Salem have also been declared eligible for public assistance for debris removal, emergency protective measures and repair or replacement of damaged public facilities.

FEMA will reimburse the jurisdictions granted public assistance for 75 percent of the eligible costs under this program.

These communities join other Virginia areas declared eligible for assistance on March 27 by President Bush. Federal and state disaster recovery officials made the new designations after a further assessment and review of damage.

Buchanan, Dickenson, Montgomery and Wise Counties and the cities of Roanoke and Salem were previously designated for individual assistance on March 27.

Individuals and businesses in the three added localities that suffered disaster damage are urged to apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). The TTY number for the speech- or hearing-impaired is 1-800-462-7585. The lines are open 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday. The deadline for application is May 27.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: