Deadline Approaches For Applying For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 14, 2003
Release Number: 

Chillicothe, OH -- Less than one month remains for Ohio residents affected by the destructive winter weather events that began February 14 to register for disaster assistance, according to officials from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and Ohio Emergency Management Agency (Ohio EMA).

The deadline is May 13 for persons in the declared counties of Adams, Gallia, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Pike and Scioto who suffered damage or loss to a home or business to apply for assistance by calling a toll-free number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). Those with a speech or hearing impairment should call, TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Anyone who has already applied for assistance can call those numbers to check on the status of their application, update their application with new information or receive help filling out a U.S. Small Business Administration low-interest disaster loan application.

"Don't hesitate to apply for the assistance you may need," Mike Hall, deputy federal coordinating officer, said. "The federal government has allocated sufficient funds for grants for all those in the affected storm-damaged areas who have eligible losses."

Dale Shipley, Ohio EMA state coordinating officer, added "Even if you have insurance, it may not cover all your losses, so it's best to apply for any eligible assistance as soon as possible before the May 13 deadline."

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top