Main Content

Oneida And Broome Counties Declared Eligible For More Snow Aid

Release date: 
April 11, 2003
Release Number: 

Albany, NY -- Federal and state officials today announced additional assistance for Oneida and Broome counties to help them recover costs for emergency protective measures undertaken as a result of record and near-record snowfall that occurred on December 25-26, 2002.

With the new designation, local governments and certain non-profit organizations in those two counties, already eligible to receive assistance for the Jan. 3-4 snowstorm, can now apply to recover costs incurred in the wake of the December storm.

The New York State Emergency Management Office submitted additional information for Oneida and Broome counties about the severity of December storm. Albany, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Greene, Herkimer, Montgomery, Otsego, Schoharie, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Sullivan and Ulster counties are also eligible for snow removal costs.

President Bush originally authorized the federal assistance under an emergency declaration issued February 25, 2003 in response to a request from Governor George E. Pataki.

Eligible applicants are reimbursed 75 percent of the eligible costs for measures taken before, during and after the emergency to save lives, protect public health and safety, and protect improved public and private property. The State is responsible for 12.5 percent of the costs and the applicant funds the remaining 12.5 percent.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: