Ross County Designated For Public Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
April 10, 2003
Release Number: 

Chillicothe, OH -- Ross County has been declared eligible for disaster assistance to help local governments impacted by February's severe winter storm, according to Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMA) Mike Hall, deputy federal coordinating officer.

Hall said the assistance was approved following a review of data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. The addition of Ross County raises to 30 the total number of Ohio counties eligible for some type of disaster assistance under President Bush's March 14 disaster declaration.

Affected local governments in Ross County are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay part of the cost for emergency protective measures undertaken as a result of record and near-record snowfall. FEMA will reimburse local governments for 75 percent of eligible costs of equipment, contracts and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow over a continuous 48-hour period.

An applicants briefing will be scheduled in Ross County to advise local officials of eligibility requirements and the reimbursement process of applying for federal disaster assistance.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top