Main Content

FEMA Releases Another $4.47 Million To Areas Hit By Snowstorms

Release date: 
April 9, 2003
Release Number: 

Albany, NY -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that another $4.47 million has been obligated to the State of New York to reimburse communities and organizations for emergency protective measures undertaken as a result of severe snowstorms that blanketed the area on December 25-26, 2002 and January 3-4, 2003.

At the request of Governor George E. Pataki, President George W. Bush signed an emergency declaration on February 25, 2003, allowing state and local governments, and certain private non-profit organizations in 19 counties to apply for federal assistance to fund 75 percent of the total eligible costs of equipment, contracts, and personnel overtime related to emergency services in dealing with the snow. The State of New York is responsible for 12.5 percent of the eligible costs and the applicant funds the remaining 12.5 percent.

Combined with the $2.18 million FEMA obligated last week, the total amount of federal assistance provided in response to the storms now totals more than $6.6 million.

Emergency assistance is being provided for a period of 96 hours for both storms to Albany, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Greene, Herkimer, Montgomery, Otsego, Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan and Ulster counties; for a period of 48 hours to Orange and Saratoga counties for the December storm; and 48 hours to Broome, Fulton, Oneida and Tioga counties for the January storm.

Since President Bush's emergency declaration, 644 communities and organizations in the declared counties have applied for federal assistance. Additional federal funding will be announced as applicants are approved. Following is a list of the combined approved federal amounts for applicants in each county included in this round of funding:

County Approved Federal Amount
Albany $ 120,347.49
Broome $ 250,883.46
Chenango $ 340,373.12
Columbia $ 66,837.95
Delaware $ 372,128.10
Fulton $ 38,688.97
Greene $ 191,245.72
Herkimer $ 215,884.48
Montgomery $ 169,109.51
Oneida $ 196,188.21
Orange $ 382,404.28
Otsego $ 303,005.60
Rensselaer $ 451,942.29
Saratoga $ 272,385.98
Schenectady $ 122,087.94
Schoharie $ 196,024.17
Sullivan $ 153,908.17
Tioga $ 210,105.47
Ulster $ 416,395.26
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: