Main Content

Gallia And Meigs Counties Designated For Individual Assistance

Release date: 
April 1, 2003
Release Number: 

Chillicothe, OH -- Disaster assistance has been made available in two additional Ohio counties to help homeowners, renters and business owners recover from the effects of the recent severe winter storm, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today.

The assistance for Meigs and Gallia counties was approved based on a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. These two counties join five others -- Adams, Jackson, Lawrence, Pike and Scioto - declared eligible for individual assistance on March 14 by President Bush.

Residents and business owners in these counties who suffered losses should apply for assistance immediately by calling the toll-free application number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), available
8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday. Those who are speech- or hearing-impaired may call
TTY 1-800-462-7585.

"We remain committed to ensuring that every qualified family and business gets the assistance they are eligible to receive," Ron Sherman, FEMA's federal coordinating officer, said.

Sherman said calling these numbers is the only way to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs that can include funding for temporary housing and home repair, disaster unemployment assistance, grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs and U. S. Small Business Administration (SBA) low-interest disaster loans for individuals and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property.

Callers are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

  • Your current phone number
  • Your Social Security number, if available
  • A general list of damages and losses you suffered
  • If insured, your insurance policy number, or the agent's and company name
  • General financial information
  • Bank account code if you wish to speed up your assistance with direct deposit


When disaster strikes, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) administers a number of disaster assistance programs and coordinates the efforts of many other federal agencies that provide services to help people through the recovery process. The types of assistance that are available follow.

Federal Emergency Management Agency Programs

INDIVIDUALS and HOUSEHOLDS PROGRAM: Assistance to individuals and families who suffered damage or loss in the severe winter storm beginning February 14. Types of aid include grants: (1) for temporary rental housing; (2) for essential repairs needed to make a residence safe, secure, sanitary; and (3) to meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other programs, such as medical, dental, funeral, personal property or transportation expenses.

DISASTER UNEMPLOYMENT ASSISTANCE: Weekly benefits to individuals out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm owners and others not usually covered under regular unemployment insurance.

U.S. Small Business Administration Programs

HOME/PERSONAL PROPERTY DISASTER LOANS: Disaster loans to homeowners and renters for restoring or replacing underinsured or uninsured disaster-damaged real and personal property. (Available in declared counties.)

BUSINESS DISASTER LOANS: Disaster loans to repair or replace destroyed or damaged business faci...

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: