Main Content

Rensselaer And Tioga Counties Designated For Snow Assistance; Schoharie County Designated For Additional Aid

Release date: 
March 11, 2003
Release Number: 

Albany, NY -- Rennselaer and Tioga counties have been approved to receive federal and state assistance to help their local governments recover costs for emergency protective measures undertaken as a result of the record and near-record snowfall. Rensselaer County, and now Schoharie County, are eligible to apply for assistance from both the December 25-26, 2002 and January 3-4, 2003 storms. Schoharie County had already been designated to receive assistance in the wake of the December storm. Tioga County is eligible for assistance with expenses from the January storm. Federal and state officials announced this additional assistance today. The funding is administered jointly by the New York State Emergency Management Office (SEMO) and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Local governments in Rensselaer, Schoharie and Tioga counties are eligible to apply for federal funds to pay 75 percent of the eligible costs for measures taken before, during and after the emergency to save lives, protect public health and safety, and protect improved public and private property. The funds were authorized under an amended emergency declaration issued today by President Bush, after a request from Governor George E. Pataki.

Rensselaer and Tioga counties now join Albany, Broome, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Fulton, Greene, Herkimer, Montgomery, Onedia, Orange, Otsego, Saratoga, Schoharie, Schenectady, Sullivan and Ulster counties which were a part of the snow emergency declaration in late February. Procedures for requesting assistance will be explained at a series of applicant briefings for local officials.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: