Main Content

Ice Storm Public Assistance Does Not Include Individual Help

Main Content
Release date: 
January 15, 2003
Release Number: 

Jonesboro, AR -- Communities in the 18 federally declared disaster counties affected by the December 3-4 2002 ice storm may be eligible for assistance with emergency protective measures, debris removal and restoration or replacement of disaster damaged public facilities. Public refers to the collective public, not to individuals, as in the phrase, "public property."

Eligible applicants are those who are legally responsible for eligible work in the designated area and are of the following:

  • State or state agency
  • Local government, such as city, county or town
  • Other state political subdivisions, such as a special district
  • Public entities and rural unincorporated communities provided that an application is on file on their behalf by a political subdivision of the state

Certain private non-profit organizations may also receive assistance. Eligible private non-profits include educational, utility, emergency, medical, rehabilitation, and temporary or permanent custodial care facilities (including those for the aged and disabled), and other facilities that provide services of a governmental nature to the general public.

Counties included in the Presidential declaration are: Baxter, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Newton, Poinsett, Randolph, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren and White.

Eligible entities may still apply for assistance by contacting the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management at 870/934-4138. Those eligible need to turn in their requests quickly in order to benefit from the expertise of FEMA and ADEM representatives.


Questions and Answers

Q. What is Public Assistance?
A. Public Assistance is a federal disaster recovery program that provides funds that cover 75 percent of the costs for debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, restoration and replacement of public facilities damaged in the wake of a Presidentially declared disaster.

Q. Who funds the other 25 percent of the costs?
A. In Arkansas, the state and the applicant equally share the responsibility for the other 25 percent of the cost.

Q. Who is eligible?
A. State government agencies, local government agencies, Indian tribes, and certain private non-profit agencies.

Q. What kinds of private non-profit agencies would qualify?
A. Organizations that operate and maintain educational, utility, emergency, medical, custodial care and other essential services to the general public that are of a governmental nature.

Q. What are some private, non-profit agencies considered essential?
A. These include museums, zoos, community centers, libraries, homeless shelters, shelter workshops, and facilities which provide health and safety services.

Q. What are the basic eligibility requirements for Public Assistance?
A. Basic eligibility criteria requires that work and related costs must:

  • Be a result of the declared event and not a pre-disaster condition.
  • Be located within a designated county eligible for assistance.
  • Be the legal responsibility of an e...
Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top