Walker County Designated For Federal And State Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
December 17, 2002
Release Number: 

Corpus Christi, TX -- State and federal officials announced that disaster assistance is available for those residents of Walker County who suffered losses from recent severe storms and flooding.

Sandy Coachman, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency, said the assistance was approved based on a review of damages gathered by federal, state and local disaster recovery officials. "We remain committed to making sure that all qualified people get the help they need," Coachman said.

Walker County becomes the 18th county included in the Presidential declaration signed November 5th as a result of severe storms and flooding that began on October 24th. The other counties are: Aransas, Brazoria, Cameron, Fort Bend, Hardin, Harris, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Kleberg, Liberty, Montgomery, Nueces, Orange, San Jacinto, and San Patricio.

This designation means that residents of Walker County are eligible to apply for a variety of programs, including disaster housing assistance, low interest loans to repair or replace storm-damaged property or grants for serious needs and necessary expenses not met by other programs.

Duke Mazurek, state coordinating officer for the Division of Emergency Management, Texas Department of Public Safety urges those who have suffered damage to apply for assistance as soon as possible. "Let us help you get back on the road to recovery," he said.

Affected homeowners, renters and business owners have until January 4th to apply for assistance by calling the toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362), between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., seven days a week. Those with speech or hearing impairments may call TTY 800-462-7585.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top