Main Content

Federal Earthquake Recovery Help Now Available For Individuals And Businesses In Fairbanks North Star Borough And Delta Greeley REAA

Main Content
Release date: 
December 12, 2002
Release Number: 

Anchorage, AK -- Federal disaster funds are now available to help homeowners, renters, and business owners in the Fairbanks North Star Borough and Delta Greeley Regional Education Attendance Area (REAA) who were affected by the magnitude 7.9 earthquake that shook Alaska Nov. 3.

The borough and REAA have been added to the area of Alaska declared by President Bush as being eligible for funds from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The declared disaster area includes the Alaska Gateway and Copper River REAAs. Funds will be made available to people to help them recover from damages that occurred because of the earthquake and aftershocks Nov. 3-10.

Federal Coordinating Officer William Lokey of FEMA said residents and business owners in the Fairbanks North Star Borough and Delta Greeley REAA, as well as Alaska Gateway and Copper River REAAs, may apply for help by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number: 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Alaska Standard Time, Monday through Saturday. People with speech or hearing impairments may call the TTY number: 1-800-462-7585.

"Calling FEMA's toll-free registration number is the way for individuals to apply for a variety of state and federal disaster assistance programs," Lokey said, adding, "The sooner you apply, the sooner we can help you." The deadline for applying for assistance is Jan. 17, 2003.

Types of programs available to individuals include funding for temporary housing, and grants for serious needs and disaster-related expenses not met by other programs. Disaster assistance includes low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) to homeowners, renters and owners of businesses of all sizes.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top