Main Content

Disaster Assistance Registration Deadline Is January 13

Release date: 
December 12, 2002
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- One month remains for Tennessee residents and business owners to apply for disaster assistance. The application deadline is January 13. State and federal assistance is available to individuals, households, and businesses for damage caused by severe storms and tornadoes that occurred between November 9-12 in 20 counties.

Renters, homeowners and businesses can register by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362). Those with speech or hearing impairments may call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) to register. Both numbers are available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., local time, Monday through Friday.

"Even if you have insurance that covers some of the damage," said Deputy Federal Coordinating Officer Holly Hollingsworth, "you should call and register with us. We may be able to help in ways that insurance cannot. Don't eliminate yourself from consideration."

Individuals in eligible areas may apply for a variety of programs, including grants to help pay for temporary housing, minor home repairs, and other serious disaster-related expenses. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) may also be available to cover the losses of renters, homeowners and businesses not fully compensated by insurance.

"To date, more than 1260 Tennessee individuals, households and businesses have registered for assistance," said State Coordinating Officer John White. "Tennessee residents, businesses and local governments have received more than $4.5 million in disaster assistance."

For more information on state and federal assistance programs, or to update an application, call the FEMA Helpline at 1-800-621-3362 (TTY: 1-800-462-7585). For more information about SBA disaster loans, call 1-800-359-2227.

The 20 Tennessee counties that have been declared eligible for assistance to individuals, households and businesses are Anderson, Bedford, Bledsoe, Carroll, Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Fentress, Gibson, Henderson, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Morgan, Roane, Rutherford, Scott, Sumner, Tipton, and Van Buren.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: