Helpline Available For Those Who Have Already Registered For Disaster Assistance

Main Content
Release date: 
December 11, 2002
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has a toll-free number that residents of Tennessee can call to get information about disaster assistance and the status of their application. The FEMA HELPLINE number is 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362). Those with speech or hearing impairments may call (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. The HELPLINE is in operation Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., local time.

Those who have registered for disaster assistance and have questions or need to update their applications should call the FEMA HELPLINE. Applicants who have changed address, telephone information or any other personal data should bring their records up to date with a call to the HELPLINE.

Federal disaster assistance is available to Tennesseans due to a disaster declaration issued by President Bush on November 13. Assistance may be available to those who suffered damage or losses caused by tornadoes and severe storms from November 9-12.

The first step of the disaster assistance process is to register by calling the same FEMA toll-free numbers, 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362), of for those with speech or hearing impairments, (TTY) 1-800-462-7585. The deadline for registration is January 13.

The 20 Tennessee counties that have been declared eligible for assistance to individuals, households and businesses are Anderson, Bedford, Bledsoe, Carroll, Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Fentress, Gibson, Henderson, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Morgan, Roane, Rutherford, Scott, Sumner, Tipton, and Van Buren.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top