Main Content

Are You Sure You Registered For Federal Disaster Assistance?

Main Content
Release date: 
December 10, 2002
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- The tornadoes and storms damaged or destroyed your home. You registered with the Red Cross and even reported damage to a local emergency manager. However, there is one additional step disaster victims must take to gain access to assistance programs coordinated by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency (TEMA).

"The Red Cross and other volunteer and local agencies provide valuable assistance, but to receive federal and state disaster assistance Tennessee residents affected by the tornadoes and severe storms must call our toll-free registration line," said Deputy Federal Coordinating Officer Holly Hollingsworth.

The FEMA toll-free registration number is 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362) and is available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., local time. Individuals with hearing or speech impairments should call toll-free (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.

"Even though the disaster recovery centers that opened around the state in the aftermath of the tornado have closed, disaster assistance is still available to Tennesseans," said John D. White Jr., state coordinating officer. "Help is just a phone call away."

Already, 1,245 Tennesseans have registered for disaster assistance and $4.2 million has been approved for distribution to households, businesses and local governments in 22 counties.

The 22 Tennessee counties that have been declared eligible for disaster assistance are Anderson, Bedford, Bledsoe, Carroll, Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Fentress, Gibson, Henderson, Madison, Marshall, Meigs, Montgomery, Morgan, Roane, Rutherford, Scott, Sumner, Tipton , Van Buren and Warren.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: