Tornado Assistance To Tennessee Tops $2.1 Million

Main Content
Release date: 
December 2, 2002
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- Federal and state disaster assistance to individuals and businesses in 20 disaster-stricken Tennessee counties topped $2.1 million Monday, with more than 360 checks sent directly to individuals and families who qualified for the various assistance programs and who sustained losses.

President Bush issued a major disaster declaration on Nov. 13, making federal disaster aid available to Tennessee as a result of the tornadoes and severe storms that struck across the state from November 9-12.

Through Sunday, December 1, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) had received 1,131 registrations for assistance. Tennessee households have received more than $465,000 to make their homes livable or find temporary alternative housing. More than $700,000 has been approved to cover disaster-related expenses, such as replacement of personal property, alternate transportation, and other necessary expenses not covered by insurance or other programs.

The United States Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved more than $940,000 in disaster loans to assist disaster victims with repairing their property or replacing lost personal items.

Tennessee residents who suffered damages should call the FEMA toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362), which is available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., local time, seven days a week until further notice. Those with speech or hearing impairments can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) to register.

Assistance to individuals and households can include grants to help pay for temporary housing, emergency home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses. Aid also may include SBA low-interest loans for homeowners, renters, and businesses.

The 20 Tennessee counties that have been declared eligible for assistance to individuals, households and businesses are Anderson, Bedford, Bledsoe, Carroll, Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Fentress, Gibson, Henderson, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Morgan, Roane, Rutherford, Scott, Sumner, Tipton, and Van Buren.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top