Main Content

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available To Earthquake Victims

Main Content
Release date: 
November 30, 2002
Release Number: 

Anchorage, AK -- Individuals who are out of work as a direct result of the November 3-10 Alaska earthquake and aftershocks may be eligible for weekly benefit payments under the Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) program. Eligible persons must live or work in the Alaska Gateway and Copper River Regional Education Attendance Areas.

DUA is funded 100 percent by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and administered by the Alaska Department of Labor through the U.S. Department of Labor. Those who may be eligible include workers and self-employed workers who became unemployed or partially unemployed due to the disaster and who are not eligible under regular unemployment insurance programs.

DUA applicants are urged to call 1-800-590-5941 to apply for benefits. The application deadline for affected workers is Thursday, December 26, 2002. The maximum weekly benefit amount is $248, plus $24 for each dependent, and may be collected until May 10, 2003.

DUA applicants will need a social security number and proof of earnings. Self-employed applicants should also be prepared to provide information about earnings from their previous federal tax year.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: