Coffee And Morgan County Recovery Centers To Open Monday

Main Content
Release date: 
November 23, 2002
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- A Disaster Recovery Center (DRC) staffed with federal and state officials is returning to Morgan County to assist victims of the recent tornadoes and severe storms. The center will open Monday, November 25 and operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily until further notice - except for Thanksgiving, when the center will be closed. The Coffee County DRC scheduled for Nov. 25-27 will also operate from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., a change from a previous announcement.

The centers will be located at:

Red Kap Distribution Center
240 Red Kap Road
Wartburg, TN 37887

New Union Fire Hall
3460 Woodbury Hwy.
New Union Community, TN 37355

At the center, disaster recovery specialists will provide assistance and answer questions from residents who have experienced damages and losses from tornadoes and severe storms that occurred from November 9-12, 2002. President Bush has issued a disaster declaration that now covers residents and businesses in 20 Tennessee counties.

Individuals from any of the counties affected by the tornadoes and storms may visit any DRC. Declared counties are: Anderson, Bedford, Bledsoe, Carroll, Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Fentress, Gibson, Henderson, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Morgan, Roane, Rutherford, Scott, Sumner, Tipton and Van Buren.

Residents of the declared counties are urged to call the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA (1-800-621-3362), available from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., local time, seven days a week. Individuals with hearing or speech impairments should call toll-free (TTY) 1-800-462-7585.

Those who have registered are not required to visit a DRC. However, individuals who would like to talk about their application with someone face-to-face, or have questions about disaster recovery programs, can visit the center. Those who have already registered should bring their registration number with them.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top