Disaster Assistance Made Available To Individuals In Four Additional Tennessee Counties

Main Content
Release date: 
November 22, 2002
Release Number: 

Nashville, TN -- Disaster assistance has been made available for four more counties in Tennessee, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today. The declaration covers tornadoes and severe storms that occurred from November 9-12, 2002.

The counties added to the declaration are Bledsoe, Fentress, Roane, and Van Buren counties. All were designated for Individual Assistance, which provides aid to individuals, families and business owners.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the additional assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials. The declaration is an extension of a declaration issued by President Bush on November 13 that made assistance available in 16 Tennessee counties.

"We remain committed to delivering assistance wherever it's needed and to making sure that every qualified individual and family receives the help they need to get back on the road to recovery," Allbaugh said.

Affected residents and business owners in all of the declared counties may apply for assistance immediately by calling the toll-free registration number, 1-800-621-FEMA, (1-800-621-3362) between 8 a.m. and 6 p.m., local time, seven days a week until further notice. Those who are speech- or hearing- impaired can call 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) to register.

The counties now eligible for Individual Assistance are: Anderson, Bedford, Bledsoe, Carroll, Coffee, Crockett, Cumberland, Fentress, Gibson, Henderson, Madison, Marshall, Montgomery, Morgan, Roane, Rutherford, Scott, Sumner, Tipton, and Van Buren.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Back to Top