President Declares Major Disaster For Alaska

Main Content
Release date: 
November 8, 2002
Release Number: 

Washington, D. C. -- The head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today that federal disaster aid has been made available for Alaska to supplement state and local recovery efforts in areas struck by the earthquake beginning November 3, 2002.

FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said President George W. Bush authorized the assistance today. "This major disaster declaration by President Bush provides federal assistance to help cover the costs of cleanup and emergency measures from this incident," said Allbaugh. "FEMA will continue to work with Alaska as the recovery process moves forward."

Immediately after the President's action, Allbaugh designated the following jurisdictions in Alaska eligible for federal funding to pay state and affected local governments 75 percent of the eligible costs of debris removal and emergency protective measures: Fairbanks North Star Borough, Denali Borough, Matanuska-Susitna Borough, the Regional Education Attendance Areas of Delta Greely, Alaska Gateway, Copper River and Yukon-Koyukuk, and the cities of Tetlin, Mentasta Lake, Northway, Dot Lake, Chistochina, Tanacross and the unincorporated communities of Slana and Tok. The declaration also makes cost-shared funding available to the state for approved projects that reduce future disaster risks.

Allbaugh indicated that damage surveys are continuing and more jurisdictions and/or additional forms of assistance may be designated later based on the results of the assessments. He named William Lokey of FEMA to coordinate the federal relief effort.

Last Updated: 
July 16, 2012 - 18:46
State/Tribal Government or Region: 
Related Disaster: 
Back to Top